Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) Website


The Pa Enua Governance is another output of the Office of the Prime Minister. The core functions of this division are to provide:

  • Oversight on governance and on the delivery of Island Government services in the Pa Enua
  • Co-ordinate and provide support in the implementation of Pa Enua community development programmes
  • Provide mediation services and advice to resolve development issues and complaints


Island Government is a Council established under the 2012-2013 Island Government Act. It is composed of elected members consisting of a mayor and councilors, appointed members consisting of traditional leaders or representative, religious representative and members of parliament. The later 3 are ex-officio members of the Island Government.

The Island Government is the key decision making authority on the island regarding Central Government functions. Their purpose is to provide good, efficient and effective governance for the island in relation to those responsibilities conferred upon them by the Island Government Act.

There is an Island Government for each of the 10 inhabited islands in the Cook Islands including: Mangaia, Atiu, Mauke, Mitiaro, Aitutaki, Palmerston, Pukapuka/Nassau, Manihiki, Rakahanga and Penrhyn. The Island Government may also be known as Kavamani Enua or any other term prescribed by regulations made under the Island Government Act.


The Executive Officer (EO) is the principal administrative officer of the Island Government. He or she is appointed in accordance with any process prescribed by regulations made under the Island Government Act and any other instructions given from time to time by the Public Service Commissioner.

Amongst other duties, the Executive Officer is primarily responsible for implementing the decisions of the Island Government. He or she is to ensure and promote efficient management of the Island Government and the effective performance of its functions and responsibilities.

Mayor and EO of the Island Governments

Island Mayor Executive Officer (EO)   EO Contact
      Phone Email
Mangaia Teremoana Atariki Anthony Whyte 34289
Atiu Upokoina Mokoroa Maara Tairi 33269
Mauke Vaine Aberahama Royston Jones 3525/35141
Mitiaro Tuaine Ngametua Charlie Rani 36108
Aitutaki Tekura Bishop Tuaine George 31700/31987
Palmerston Taepae Marsters Arthur Neale 37680/37620
Pukapuka/Nassau Levi Walewaoa Pio Ravarua 41712
Manihiki Ngamata Napara Jane Raina 43102/43103
Rakahanga Neti Tarau Nga Takai 44036
Penrhyn TBA Takurangi Taia 42100